Introduce yourself here.
Forum rules
Click for Forum Rules
Jestak
Wrestling With Emmett

Another New Member Says Hi

Post by Jestak »

How did you pick your screen name?

Jestak is the name of a central character--my favorite character--in an obscure series of sci-fi novels I read way back in the early 1980s. I've been using it as an online handle for several years now.

Recently I discovered that Jestak is also the name of the goddess of domestic life among the Kalash people who live in the Hindu Kush in Pakistan.

Just as an aside, I also answer to Mark, since that's my given name.

I've added a few updates to this reflecting how some of my answers would change now that I've read all the books.

How did you come to read Twilight and which book is your favorite?

I sort of arrived at the books by "the back way," as I recently had the Twilight movie come to the top of my Netflix queue--I watched it a little over a week ago. I was sufficiently intrigued that I latched onto copies of Twilightand New Moon as fast as Amazon could get them to me. I then read both of them in near-record time. I will be getting ahold of a copy of Eclipse and reading it in the near future; Breaking Dawn will wait until the release of the paperback edition.

After looking once again at the months-off paperback publication date for Breaking Dawn, and the very nice discount Amazon had on the hardcover edition, I went ahead and ordered it, along with Eclipse, a little over a week ago.

I can't really say at this point which of the two I've read I like better. I like the whole Cullen-Hale clan, like having them all there in the background, so that sort of inclines me towards Twilight. However, the final sections of New Moon, from about Chapter 17 (Alice's return to Forks) on, is my favorite sequence in the first two books.

Having read all four, I'd now say Eclipse is my favorite of the books.

Who do you like best: Edward, Bella, or Jacob?

Bella, definitely--I love a good heroine.